Wizard Con New Orleans 2014

I’m slowly but surely making an attempt to catch this blog up to my actual life events. In March of this year I took my sissy and myself to Wizard Con in New Orleans. That’s right I got us two of the “Matt Smith Experience VIP tickets“. For those of you who don’t know Matt Smith is the 11th Doctor in the British telly show “Doctor Who”. This is the kid’s Doctor! Another big plus about this convention was that so many of our friends/acquaintances live in New Orleans and the surrounding areas.

A bit of history on the Doctor Who groups in my part of Louisiana.

In New Orleans the main Doctor Who group is called Krewe Du Who. The Krewe part I suppose comes from them being the Whovian contingent that rolls yearly in the Chewbacchus Parade. There is a huge amount of Cos players in that group and they even have their own collectible trading cards depicting the specific character they like dressing up as. 191092170(See examples) so for me seeing all of them in their best costumes was totally thrilling, especially my two friends who cos play as Ace and the Seventh Doctor. We have a group here in Baton Rouge that meets every Tuesday at a local restaurant to watch Doctor Who episodes. We simply call that group the Doctor Who Baton Rouge Viewing Group.

It only took a few minutes once we got there to find the booth that the groups had set up. wizcinp1They were giving away trading cards and selling T-shirts. I got a little of each! So once we said hello to our friends, the kid and I headed off to take our photo-op with Matt Smith!! (see picture below, but don’t look too close as I was sick and looked like death warmed over)

The Kid was so excited after she had her picture with Matt she cried like a baby and she was shaking. Must be lovely to get that excited and out pour that much emotion, I thought is we walked away from the signing area. Of course unbeknownst to me I had a bit of future excitement in store for me too. (more on that in a second )

We met back up with our friends and we all walked around for a while as a group. While walking around we met up with a David Tennant look-alike and had her picture taken with him. We had lunch and then headed over to get our autographs from Matt Smith. WizCon41

It was really great to be able to speak with him. It was truly surreal. And of course the kid again with the tears because he said “love you too” in reply. So we leave after getting the autograph and I’m looking through the bags that I have in my hands and the kid is talking to some friends when I look up and see standing pretty much right across from me, less than 5 feet away me is Linda Hamilton star of the Terminator and the original TV series beauty and the beast. lham

She standing up on a platform looking like she’s getting ready to leave and if you’ve ever seen those cartoons were persons mouth falls wide open in shock and they’re practically drooling, will that was me. I’m surprise she paid me any notice whatsoever she must have people look at her like that all the time. But she looked me directly and I said hi come on over here, she actually met me halfway. Luckily I recovered from my drooling and was able to string a few sentences together to let her know that because of her and her TV show I discovered Shakespeare’s Sonnets. I thanked her for being so talented. I’m sure I sounded like a rabid fan to her but if she thought that you’d never know it she listen to everything I said with the greatest interest it as she was walking off I called after her and said, oh and btw you were really beautiful in that episode of Lost Girl the other night when I watched it. She stopped dead in her tracks ran back over to me and gave me a huge kiss on the cheek and said I was such a sweetheart!! When I walked back over to the kid she looked at me with the type of understanding that seemed truly beyond her years!!

So my big thrill at the convention was the “Linda Hamilton Experience”….

#neverwashfaceagain

Here’s some more pics:

wizcinp2

 

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

